Emily Carroll’s “Infinite Canvas” Artwork

I was first introduced to Emily Carroll‘s artwork in 2010 by Neil Gaiman, who tweeted enthusiastically about her His face All Red horror webcomic.

hisfaceallred

Since then, I’ve been  following her illustrations, comics and fanart in her website, blog, flickr, tumblr, facebook, and twitter accounts.

Emily Carroll was born in June 1983. She drew her first comic in May 2010, and one year later won the Joe Shuster Award for Outstanding Web Comics Creator.

According to the Joe Shuster Award Program:

“Carroll is a young, fresh cartooning voice, her visuals are strong and appealing, and her choice of colour and her effective storytelling was enhanced by the medium itself. From the blood line that trickles down the screen to the astonished maid in the Death of Jose Arcadio to the beat by beat, point and click storytelling used to great dramatic effect in His Face All Red, Carroll effectively makes the reader a part of the action in a way that traditional paper and print storytelling just isn’t capable of doing.”

In an interview given to Sean T. Collins, for The Comics Journal, Carroll discusses her preference for “scrolling down” and her use of the “infinite canvas”, the idea that the size of a digital comics page is theoretically infinite, and thus unlimited by conventional print page sizes.

“It stems more from just what I think will be most fun, really. And since—when I started doing comics—I’d never done comics for print, I wasn’t in the mindset of doing pages anyway, which maybe led to me not really adhering to that standard when I started in on my own attempts. I like the idea of scrolling just because it’s fun to play around with revealing images that way, but you can play around with the same thing using page turns too really.

And actually, now that I am working more on print comics, I find that it’s tough for me to figure out how to pace things and place things on the page (though when I say “tough,” I mean it’s still a good time, just a different sort of challenge). So I like doing both, and I like reading both, in print and online. For me, it depends on how I want to tell the story.”

Although His Face All Red was the web comic that made us aware of this young artist,  her subsequent work is still  ambitious, fresh, and charming. She keeps a dream journal in the form of  comic snippets,

dec8 dec20 dec28 nov29 nov30

a flickr account with fan art based on the Dune series by Frank Herbert,

dune dune2 dune3

and her web comics are getting better and better. I strongly recommend reading all of them, but if I had to choose a favourite, that would definitely be  the love story of Anu -Anulan & Yir’s Daughter.

anuanulan anuanulan4

anuanulan3

What attracted me most in Anu- Anulan & Yir’s Daughter was the way she incorporates the mundane in an epic love story.

In her own words,

“I wanted to show that they ended up in love, but that love needed to include moments that were both mundane as well as passionate—and simply showing a panel of them old together at the end wasn’t enough. And I also wanted to show that it’s not just a single sweeping romantic gesture that makes a love story, it’s also the everyday moments (like having a meal, or taking a walk, or just having a laugh together) that can mean just as much.”

anuanulan1

Leave a Reply

